A mad, keen photographer needs to get out into the world and work and make mistakes. Sam Abell

hallowellc:

IMG_0827

That’s kind of what I’ve been missing, I think. The only time in my life that I took pictures i was really happy with was on my trip when I was forced and prompted to take pictures, hundreds of them, everyday. While in my class, I came home every night with tons and tons of pictures to sift through and edit. At first, I’d get one that I really liked out of all day of shooting. Towards the end, I’d only take maybe 100 or so pictures and I’d come out with 12 that I was happy with. That’s the key. To just get out there and do it. I’m not going to take a jaw dropping photograph if I dont bring my camera with me. Yesterday I went to Boston and I took 37 pictures and this is the only one I thought was semi “show-worthy.” My camera is always next to me and my thirst to create is not being quenched simply because I don’t take it out of its bag. If i do not prompt myself like my professor prompted me, I fear I will never get to that place where I’m happy with my work again. I have to almost force myself to just get out and try.

Originally posted on Photofocus:

A mad, keen photographer needs to get out into the world and work and make mistakes.

– Sam Abell  

View original

Leave a Reply

