Kassidy works on costumes for Cripple of Inishmaan

photo by Christina Hallowell
photo by Christina Hallowell

“I work in here as the costume assistant for my work study job, and Beth Dorr is the head costume designer here. I just designed the costumes for The Last of the Boys, the fall show directed by Peter Simmel. That was the first show that I’ve ever designed costumes for and I worked very closely with Beth, obviously. Beth is designing this upcoming show, Cripple of Inishmaan, and I’ll be helping her with anything she needs. I had never done costuming until last year when I took Beth’s costume design class. In high school I used to pull costumes out of the costume room, but I’ve never designed anything this intensely before. I’d done some basic sewing but I never had actually made things that people were going to wear on stage or design for a really large college-level production, so it was a big leap for me! I just fell in love with it when I was costuming The Tempest. It was so much fun. I already knew that I loved theatre and acting, but doing the costuming was just this whole other part that I really had never had the chance to explore before. I just found so much more passion in it than I ever thought.” -Kassidy Giggey

Leave a Reply

